​CURIOSITY KILLED THOSE CATS

 1 Samuel 6: 19 God struck some of the men of Beth Shemesh who, out of curiosity, irreverently peeked into the Chest of God. Seventy died. The whole town was in mourning, reeling under the hard blow from God, 20 and questioning, “Who can stand before God, this holy God? And who can we get to take this Chest off our hands?”

 What kind of fool sticks his nose where it doesn’t belong? This is a classic example of: Mind your own business. Maybe they thought the Philistines loaded the Ark with gold as well? They didn’t know just how dangerous that Ark could be. In my life I have personally been shocked working with, and goofing around with electricity. I have learned the hard way that it doesn’t feel too good getting shocked. I have learned the hard way a reverence and a respect of electricity, which causes me to pause and to triple check an outlet before starting any work. I suppose those nuts thought that because the Ark was not it its proper place; it could be handled in any ordinary way. Perhaps it was the carelessness of Eli and his two sons, and their lack of reverence that cause a trickle down effect within the people. Nevertheless, they learned in a hurry that this thing still has some Power! Yeah, Curiosity killed those cats!
 Again, instead of Repentance and learning how to do it right, the People banish God from their presence, as if saying, “We will teach God a lesson!” I’m pretty sure we do the same thing, when we get a spiritual whoopin’. I’ll show Him! I won’t go to church! I won’t participate, I won’t give! That will teach Him! When we go thru trial, and testing, we blame God. When we suffer loss or tragedy, harm or peril, again He’s at fault. Unfortunately we cast away the only One that really matters, and the only One who can actually rescue us. 
 Father God, Forgive me for the times when I have been carelessly irreverent. You are a Holy God, and I have made you at times my BFF. I repent from the reckless familiarity I have shown on occasion. I know you still love me, and have great plans for my life. 
Heavenly Father, I also pray for the reader, for the times they have been careless and casual with You. For the times in which You were pushed away in protest. God show up mightily, move on their behalf. I pray for a fresh wind of Your Spirit to blow on sails that have hung limp and in turn caused times of stagnation. Bring purpose, and destiny back into their lives. Lord, as we repent and commit to change our attitudes and our behaviors, give us the strength needed to get past those times where we seem to get stuck. Give us the patience to allow each test and trial to teach us what we do desperately need to learn. And enable us to live more holy and pure lives in this dark and rebellious time. -John

Author: soulkandysite

Husband, father, grandPops and friend.

Leave a Reply

