Heart Change

‭‭1 SAMUEL‬ ‭10:6-7‬ ‭AMP‬‬ “Then the Spirit of the LORD will come upon you mightily, and you will prophesy with them, and you will be changed into another man. When these signs come to you, do for yourself whatever the situation requires, for God is with you.”
…So we left off with the Israelites asking the Man of God for a King. I had to combine my thoughts on Chapter 9 with Chapter 10. 
     We are introduced to Saul. A son of an affluent man, a young man who is described as tall, handsome and obedient. 
     This kid is on an errand for his pops. He is with a servant looking throughout the land for some lost donkeys. Doesn’t seem like anything really out of the ordinary. Saul and the servant search high and low and it seems like they have really run out of options, but the servant has an idea, “Let’s ask the prophet maybe he can let us know where these lost donkeys are.” 
     Little does Saul know that his life is about to be changed forever. The M.O.G. Not only tells him to stop looking for the donkeys, but he tells him he is about to be anointed king. 
     I have to be brutally honest, I have journaled this book before and each time I’ve skipped chapters 9-10, and I almost skipped it again, but if I apply the standard of 2nd Timothy 3:16 then there must be something for me here that I desperately need. 
      I know I’m biased. I know that because I have read the entire story that I have a prejudice toward Saul. It’s maybe not a 100 biased opinion, but there indeed a dislike for the guy. My Bible hero is David, and the way that I have read that Saul treats David has got me all salty towards him. I already know he is impulsive, disobedient and let’s a jealous rage overtake him. I already know that his failures cause him to be a “One and Done” monarch. 
     His blunders at leadership and loyalty. Not only costs him the realm, but it also denies him any chance of a successor from his blood line. 
So what can I learn? Ugh. 
      Young Saul was obedient, he also believed in the words that he was given. There was also a heart change before the gift was imparted. God literally changed his heart, perhaps this heart change gave him the boldness to join in with the prophets? 
      I really don’t know! All I know is that God gave this kid a shot. And he started off with the right heart, the right attitude and the right spirit
      Father, help me to understand your Word especially when my preconceived notions hinder and effect my ability to receive. In a sense I want to be like young Saul, I want to be able to move on just your Word without a doubt and without questions. Like young Saul, I also want this old hard heart changed especially if it means Your Spirit coming on me mightily and empowering me to use my gifting in a greater capacity. 
     Heavenly Father, I know time after time you are looking for men and women who are available to stand in the gap and rebuild the walls and not just any man or woman will do. 
     Father God, I don’t want just a great start, but I want to finish STRONG. -John

Author: soulkandysite

Husband, father, grandPops and friend.

Leave a Reply

