Rumbly in my Tumbly

1 Samuel‬ ‭14:24‬ ‭(ESV) “And the men of Israel had been hard pressed that day, so Saul had laid an oath on the people, saying, “Cursed be the man who eats food until it is evening and I am avenged on my enemies.” So none of the people had tasted food.”

I should be writing about Prince Jonathan and his bravery, and the courage and commitment of his armor-bearer, of how they peeled away from the troops and scaled jagged cliffs covertly and created chaos amongst the enemy. 

I should be writing about how God once again comes on the scene and routs the enemy. Causing them to slay each other. 

…BUT

Once again, just when you don’t think it’s humanly possible to do something worse than his unlawful sacrifice, King Saul makes a careless oath

When we were younger our crew would respond to that with two words… “This Brother!!!”

What a Bonehead, what a Mook! This guy is making Harry and Lloyd look like geniuses

As a SoCal guy, one of the traditions before the Rose 🌹Bowl game, Lawry’s Restaurant would host both teams to a hearty Prime Rib dinner an expensive, delicious, high calorie meal before the game. The exact opposite of what King Saul proclaims. 

“Hey everybody! Listen up, NO one is going to eat a thing until the enemy is conquered!”

All of a sudden I can almost hear the sound of 1000’s of soldiers sigh a collective groan, immediately followed by a chorus of “Rumbly in my Tumbly”. Which is uncannily appropriate in this story. There’s hunny in this story (1 Samuel Chapter 14) you have to read it for yourself. 

I’m stoked, I was able to reference College Football, Dumb and Dumber and Winnie the Pooh in the same blog. 

It’s taken me over 4 days marinating on this to even come up with an opinion

It smells like Saul is trying to act religious, it reeks of pride and selfishness. The longer I think about it the more it stinks. This guy is letting his crown warp his mind. Shakespeare wrote, “Heavy is the head that wears the crown.” I know Zac Brown sang it like that, but that’s where he got it from. 

Is King Saul so emotionally spent by the constant oppression of Israels enemies that he is making rash decisions? Did he inherit such a mess of a nation that it’s causing him to misspeak, and make logistical errors?  

This isn’t looking like the changed guy that prophesied with the prophets, the young man who rallied 330,000 men to fight with him. It appears the pressure of leading has him thinking he is now an island unto himself. It’s his people and his enemies. How fast do we forget from where we came. 

So… what can we learn?

1. Be careful when making decisions under duress. It’s best to ask for advice from people you trust

2. Think about how policy changes affect the whole organization… Small moves by the large cogs (leaders) cause the small cogs (staff/ helpers/ volunteers) to spin wildly

3. Personal issues and frustrations can become organizational nightmares.  

4. If your teammates need to make decisions behind your back to save your backside, it’s not always betrayal, it is often the effect of a slow erosion of trust and confidence in your leadership. 

Heavenly Father, I’ve made plenty of dumb moves and poor decisions which made my leaders spin uncontrollably. My spontaneous style was chaotic to those who served with me. Thank you for allowing me to see the error of my ways, and thank you for giving me friends and teammates that stuck with me because they believed in “the cause” even though I didn’t give them too much reason to believe in me. 

May the readers also reflect and learn from their mistakes before hasty decisions and policy changes cause irreparable damage to their teams. 

Thank you for your Word. Today once again it cut deep. I pray someone is helped as much as I have been. -Love John

Author: soulkandysite

Husband, father, grandPops and friend.

Leave a Reply

