Enough!

Appetites unchecked are a dangerous thing.

“Never eat more honey than you need; too much may make you vomit.” Proverbs 25:16 GNB

About 23 years ago I was working late cleaning some offices and I was famished. Always one to burn the candle at both ends, I went to work that night after being busy all day. I worked that entire night and It was early in the morning and with nothing packed for me to eat, I did what most of you would have done. I went through the refrigerator looking to see what was edible and still sealed. I usually don’t eat my own leftovers let alone someone else’s. All that I found was a can of Welch’s Frozen Grape Concentrate. Hey I scored! I love Welch’s Grape Juice, so how much more would I enjoy it in a concentrated form?

I found a spoon and commenced eating it like Ice Cream. It was good going down, the coolness of each spoonful went down my parched throat smoothly like a waxed sled down a snowy slope. And then it hit me. I don’t know if it was too much sugar, syrup or what, but I got so sick and this is gross, but it didn’t come up/out the way it went in/down.

No waxed sled, it was more like walking to the beach across hot asphalt and sand barefooted.

Needless to say I don’t much care for grape juice anymore.

The writer here is saying the same thing. Know your limits and have some self-control. Easier said than done especially when you are famished. I guess that’s the real issue.

Did I let myself get to to a place where I made an impulsive and irrational decision?

Did my lack of preparation and foresight steer me towards a sour stomach?

Did my attempt to satisfy a hunger and desire cause me to make a poor choice?

Yes, Yes and Yes.

And it cost me. Not only an upset stomach, but I lost any future desire to partake of something I once enjoyed.

I have a hard time taking Communion without thinking about that day.

But Frozen Welch’s Concentrate isn’t the only thing I have overdone. I’ve let unchecked appetites sour some relationships, hobbies, and even ministry.

This isn’t easy to confess, but I always try to be honest, and I’m definitely not the hero in this story. I’ve played too much ball with the guys, spent too many hours practicing music, allowed work and ministry to take me away from my family, made unwise choices that almost ruined my marriage.

Appetites unchecked are a dangerous thing.

Thank God for His mercy and Grace. Amen! Hope this helps someone. – John

Author: soulkandysite

Husband, father, grandPops and friend.

Leave a Reply

