Chin Checked

How many times have you been so certain about a thing that you spoke without first checking all the possible outcomes

2 Samuel 7:2-5 NLT

“the king summoned Nathan the prophet. “Look,” David said, “I am living in a beautiful cedar palace, but the Ark of God is out there in a tent!” Nathan replied to the king, “Go ahead and do whatever you have in mind, for the Lord is with you.” But that same night the Lord said to Nathan, “Go and tell my servant David, ‘This is what the Lord has declared: Are you the one to build a house for me to live in?”

It’s been over 4 months since I last wrote my thoughts about 2nd Samuel. I left off on Chapter 6, King David finally brought the Ark of the Lord back to Israel. We don’t know how much time has passed between Chapters 6 and 7, and it probably doesn’t matter.

All that matters is this…

David is looking around and appreciating what he has. A lot could be said about that. How many of us take the time to look around and appreciate what we have?

It seems like in our house, just when I’m getting used to the decor, my wife is ready to change everything. To me home is wherever I kick off my shoes. I’m not concerned with styles, trends, etc… but Ti, oh no! It’s Modern, Contemporary, Farmhouse, Mid-Century Modern. I’m like, WHATEVER! Just give me a place to sit, the remote and a cold drink and I’m happy.

King David finally has peace from all his enemies. The previous verses say, he settled in his palace and was at rest. No fighting, no issues, no fires to put out. He’s probably on his favorite chair, with the remote and a cold beverage in his hand. What at this particular time makes him think about where the Ark is located?

Could it be that as hard as it was to get the Ark back from Abinadab’s house, then the fiasco with Uzzah, and then sending it to Obed-edoms house… could it be that King David was pondering the Holiness of this thing?

If indeed there was to be no more wandering, hiding and living like vagabonds for Gods people, perhaps it’s time for the very Presence of God (the Mercy Seat) to finally have a proper resting place as well?

So back to my original thought, David has this brilliant idea, “I’m going to build God a house!!!”

He was so fond of his brainchild, he straightaway shares it with the prophet, and Nathan without hesitation agrees. “Dude, that’s a brilliant idea!”

Something like that.

But a funny thing happens that evening. The Prophet Nathan gets “chin checked” by God. Funny to me, not so funny to Nathan. Nope he probably felt like a straight up sucker.

I’ve been there, open mouth & insert foot.

God tells Nathan, “Dude, you were out of line, go tell David, he isn’t building me anything!”

And that’s what I want to focus on.

How many times have you spoken with an authority that wasn’t yours?

How many times have you been so certain about a thing that you spoke without first checking all the possible outcomes?

I’ve been there, and to say “it sucks” doesn’t even begin to shed light on how it feels to get set in your place.

It’s so humiliating! I can imagine Nathan dreading having to go back to the King, and tell him, God said…

NO!

But God wasn’t being a jerk! Not even close, He was essentially saying,

“I DO THE BUILDING AROUND HERE!”

“You might build me a house that might last decades, but I’m going to build your house and it will last FOREVER!”

What in your life is temporary? What have you spent so long building that won’t even last 2 generations?

My brother David once told me, “John, it’s possible that your children’s, grandchildren won’t know a thing about you, other than your name.”

And I started to think, that’s true, I don’t know much about my great-grandparents other than they’re my grandparents – parents.

What kind of legacy will I have, will you have?

Let God build something in you – thru you that will last generations.

“You can make many plans, but the Lord’s purpose will prevail.” Proverbs 19:21 NLT

If you let it…

soulKANDY

Author: soulkandysite

Husband, father, grandPops and friend.

Leave a comment